Breathing Room

Standard

ImageI was approached by some overzealous, bible thumping Christians very recently.  They Debo’d my personal space and after speaking, immediately asked me, “Do you know Jesus?”  I started looking around because I thought maybe He was right there standing beside their buggy or something.Of course, I’m like seriously defensive right now, but I keep on smiling as if nothing’s wrong.  I tell them, “Yes, I know Him.”  I wanted to get smart alecky, but I didn’t. Then they wanted to know if I had accepted Him as my personal savior.  Again, I told them I had.  They proceed to share with me all their favorite scriptures and how I needed to TRULY develop a personal relationship with God and to study the Word and they wanted to give me books and invitations to their church.  I politely declined and told them that I have a wonderful church home already.  They asked if they could pray with me, all the while they’re reaching out to put their hands on me.  I told them, “Nah, I’m good with that, y’all can pray for me, but I got to go.  I’m sorry. Have a blessed day.”  I walked off.  This isn’t the first time that I’ve had an encounter like that.  I felt the same way every single time.  I can NOT get with this approach in ministry.  

Remember, this is MY opinion.  If you don’t agree, I understand.

Now, in Matthew 28:19-20 it states, “Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:  Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.”  I understand this.  I agree wholeheartedly with this because I know that everything found in the Bible is a guaranteed truth.  I honestly don’t think Jesus meant for us to cram Him down people’s throats though.  Isn’t accepting Christ supposed to be a free will action?

Proverbs 28:1 says, The wicked flee when no man pursueth: but the righteous are bold as a lion.  I’m sure you already realize the characteristics of a lion.  A lion is not timid AT ALL!  They will not let anything come between them and their target.  It studies it’s prey, then out of no where it pounces! There are very few animals that can even overtake the lion, and then only with the homies backing them up.  Maybe I need to brush up on my pouncing skills. 

I am excited about my walk with God, and because of this excitement, I want to share it with the world.  Even in my excitement though, I just can’t walk up on somebody close enough for their stray hairs to fall on my shirt to tell ’em nothing. 

I need for y’all to chime in. Let me know what YOU think.  What would you have done?  Is this your outreach ministry method?

2 responses »

  1. I agree my ministry is not about that. People are already judgmental about Christians. We have to be gentle when we approach people and respectful. We also have to understand that everyone won’t and don’t plan to accept Christ.

  2. I soooo agree with you! I don’t think “go and spread the gospel” means getting pushy with people. No one will be pushed into the kingdom. It is my humble opinion that people are loved into the kingdom. Our outpouring of God’s love should be a warm invitation to get to know the God of love on personal basis. My life should be a testamony to the One who resides inside. Thank you for sharing the story!!

Leave a Reply

